top of page

Zest for Life

Recently, I have been influenced by positive energy. I guess I always have been influenced by positive energy, but recently I have been extremely aware of its presence.

One of the main ways I have found this to be true is resonating on the fact that I am an extreme extrovert. Like... extreme. Yes, I've always known I was, but I didn't realize to what extent. My new job really doesn't give me much human interaction...

An extrovert means you derive energy from being around and socializing with people. So for an extrovert not to have a lot of human interaction, it is deteriorating.

So for this reason, I have been feeling down recently. My mom pointed out this past week how much of my time I spend alone. In the hour commute to work, the 8+ hours I'm sitting in front of a computer screen, the hour commute home from work... and yes, even at the gym.

While normally I would wake up ready to TAKE ON the day...

I found myself sort of dreading each morning...

This, on top of a lot of new changes in my life, I have found my energy being drained, my smile fading, and my zest for life decreasing.

FORTUNATELY this story gets happier :)

One of my best friends, who a few months ago became my roomie, started working at the jewelry retailer Alex and Ani.

Heard of it?

Ha. Of course you have. Some may say they're overpriced, but Jess would say it's because they're made from recycled material and are US born and bred, yadda, yadda...

The company describes itself as a "positive energy" company. They even put a tag that says that on all of their bracelets.

I have gotten two bracelets since she has been working there (at discount, of course). One means zest for life (a lemon), and the other means celebration of life (a sugar skull from Dia de los Muertos).

Both of these have obvious meaning, but they each resonated with me immensely! Today, the zest for life charm continues to hold my attention.

The qualities that having a "zest for life" entail are energetic, bright and confident (and it is, of course, yellow! My favorite color). When I got this bracelet, I was feeling the opposite of cheerful and bold -- I was feeling lonely and, for lack of a better word, SAD.

The description card reads, and I quote, "This charm is a reminder that when life hands you lemons, you have the power to take positive action, sweeten the situation, and make lemonade.

After reading that line, it was like a light bulb that was fading suddenly got a burst of energy in my mind-- YOU have the power to make the most out of any situation. I have a brand new respect for the phrase "when life gives you lemons..."

SWEETEN THE SITUATION.

Love that line.

Happiness is a choice. For some reason, I was losing my ability to see the happy in every day. Trust me, it's not always easy to find. But it's always there.

Keeping the positive energy and GOOD VIBES flowing and a zest for life comes easier. Surround yourself with happier people, and your energy levels would do the rest!

"The power to create a desirable outcome is always within reach."

You have the power to change the situation!

Good vibes only. Sweeten the situation. Your happiness is in your own hands!

Don't allow your happiness to be in anyone's hands but your own. No one deserves that amount of power over you.

WORKOUTS:

In order to keep positive energy flowing, working out is essential.

LEGS

5:00 minute bike ride warm-up

100 squats

90 walking lunges

80 mountain climbers

70 sumo squats

60 calf raises

50 bridge raises

40 curtsy lunges

30 step ups

20 jump squats

10 burpees

10 minutes on stair stepper (level 10)

Repeat sequence above

STRETCH! (your butt will thank you)

ARMS

Run .50 mile at 7.0 mph (incline at 2.0)

15 bicep curls each side (15 lbs)

30 skull crushers (20 lbs)

30 crunches

Repeat

Run .25 mile at 7.0 mph

15 outside bicep curls each side (hold elbows at hip bones and rotate hands facing the ceiling while holding weigh out as an extension of your sides)

30 tricep dips

50 bicycle curls

Repeat

Run .25 mile at 7.0 mph

15 hammer curls each side

15 Tricep kick backs each side

50 russian twists

Repeat

Run .50 mile at 7.0 mph

Top it off with a few more ab exercises if you need it!

bottom of page